Call for Nominations: 2nd Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award 2023 – Recognizing Champions of Freedom and Expression

New Delhi – The prestigious “Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award” ceremony is set to return for its second edition, organized by the Kisan Trust. The event is scheduled to take place on 16 November 2023, coinciding with the observance of National Press Day. This award ceremony pays homage to Danish Siddiqui, an eminent figure in the realm of photojournalism, and aims to honor individuals who exemplify an unwavering commitment to upholding constitutional values, championing civil rights, and safeguarding freedom of expression.

The upcoming ceremony is anticipated to be held at Ambedkar Bhawan, with the award presented to three remarkable individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication through their work in social activism, journalism, and photojournalism. The Siddiqui Freedom Award, a manifestation of Danish Siddiqui’s legacy, signifies the courageous efforts of those who actively stand up for freedom and justice.

In the previous year, the inaugural ceremony of the Siddiqui Freedom Award celebrated luminaries who have fearlessly upheld constitutional values amidst challenges to freedom of expression. Distinguished recipients included Professor Roop Rekha Verma, an esteemed retired Vice Chancellor of Lucknow University and dedicated social worker; Ajit Anjum, a prominent journalist; and Adnan Abidi, a Pulitzer Prize-winning Reuters photojournalist. These awardees embody the spirit of resilience in the face of adversity.

The Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award is a poignant tribute to Danish Siddiqui, symbolized by an iconic trophy, and accompanied by a monetary honorarium. A distinguished jury panel selects recipients annually based on public nominations. The selection process evaluates nominees’ contributions in championing freedom of expression and promoting positive change in society.

Last year’s selection committee, composed of renowned individuals including social activist Yogendra Yadav, historian S. Irfan Habib, and senior photojournalist Praveen Jain, meticulously identified deserving recipients. Likewise, this year’s jury will honor three individuals whose unwavering commitment to constitutional values has left an indelible mark.

The Kisan Trust invites the public to participate in the award process by nominating deserving candidates. Those interested can visit the official award website through the link to submit their suggestions using the nomination form. The nomination period is set to commence on 1 September 2023, with a final deadline of September 30, 2023. As we eagerly await your suggestions, rest assured that each nomination will be thoughtfully assessed by our esteemed jury. The selected recipients will be officially announced, underscoring their invaluable contributions to society.

For more information and updates about the Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award 2023, please visit