Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award 2022 organized in Delhi, many big journalists including Ajit Anjum honored

This year the awards were given to well-known senior journalist Ajit Anjum, retired acting Vice Chancellor of Lucknow University and hardworking social worker Professor Roop Rekha Verma , and Pulitzer Prize awarded, photojournalist Adnan Abidi of Reuters

The ‘Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award’ ceremony was organized by the Kisan Trust at the Constitution Club on Wednesday. This was the first program of the Danish Siddiqui Freedom Award organized in honor of social workers, journalists, and other personalities fighting for the dignity of constitutional values, civil rights, and freedom of expression in society.

Henceforth every year on November 16, National Journalism Day, this felicitation ceremony will be organized and award three personalities.

This year the honor was given to a well-known senior journalist and well-known YouTuber Ajit Anjum, retired Vice Chancellor of Lucknow University and hardworking social worker Professor Roop Rekha Verma, and Pulitzer Prize-awarded, photojournalist Adnan Abidi of news agency Reuters.

For the sake of protecting our constitutional values, which are getting tarnished in society, these personalities who raised their voice impartially with this Freedom Award trophy, organized in the name of renowned photojournalist and journalist Danish Siddiqui, the honor of Rs. 1 lakh each amount is given.

In this felicitation ceremony, the National President of Rashtriya Lok Dal, Chaudhary Jayant Singh, spoke on the importance of independent journalism and shared his thoughts. Looking at the current situation of freedom of expression in society, former Ambassador KC Singh said that the media and press should be able to speak the truth in front of the power. At the award ceremony, Justice Ansari also said that freedom for the press is necessary and a fundamental right; only then can the media or press benefit society.

Jury member of the ceremony, Yogendra Yadav, said it is our good fortune to honor three different personalities associated with important events COVID Tragedy, Anti-CAA Protest, and Farmer’s Protests. Jury members Praveen Jain and Professor S. Irfan Habib congratulated the Kisan Trust for starting this award and expressed happiness for this initiative to honor fair journalism.